Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-19-2010, 03:21 PM   #1

3rd party lens compatibility with K7

Hi, seeking some advice as I'm new to Pentax and DSLR, previously had SLR film camera's and simple digital camera.

Can anybody comment on their experience using a Tamron 17-50, f2.8 with the K7, reading through the manual I discovered that alot of features offered by the K7 are not available when not using a genuine Pentax lens?

Not much I can do about it now as I've purchased the lens, but I may have changed my lens choice should I have known this previously. Searched alot of forums etc and nowhere did I see this raised as an issue.

Am I doing something wrong or is there sme software changes I can make? doesn't make sense that a lens should effects teh camera's ability to perform some focus features.

Thanks for any advice/help -- great site, very informative

08-19-2010, 03:31 PM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Rush Quote
Hi, seeking some advice as I'm new to Pentax and DSLR, previously had SLR film camera's and simple digital camera.

Can anybody comment on their experience using a Tamron 17-50, f2.8 with the K7, reading through the manual I discovered that alot of features offered by the K7 are not available when not using a genuine Pentax lens?

Not much I can do about it now as I've purchased the lens, but I may have changed my lens choice should I have known this previously. Searched alot of forums etc and nowhere did I see this raised as an issue.

Am I doing something wrong or is there sme software changes I can make? doesn't make sense that a lens should effects teh camera's ability to perform some focus features.

Thanks for any advice/help -- great site, very informative
As far as I know, the only functions that are unavailable are those that rely on a lens profile, i.e. in-camera distortion and CA correction. Everything else functions perfectly.