Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2007, 07:12 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Help on finding a good motorsports lens...

..or an excellent 'walk-around' lens.

Let me start off by saying I already have the DA 50-200, and while I love it, it's a little lacking in the range. I'd like 300mm for what I do.

I've searched and read some threads about the Sigma 70-300 DG APO, and the Tamron 70-300 Di. Back when I had a Minolta 5D I had a Tamron 28-300mm with me at a racetrack on a cloudy, dark day and it did decently well (without a monopod too)

I realize the compromise that comes w/ 18-200 or 28-300 styles lenses, but at racetracks you don't have a lot of time to switch lenses (i'm not a pro, so i don't have a 2nd K10 body, thanks). I noticed on my trip to Rockport, MA, I was switching lenses a lot, and everytime i did i had a crap load of dust on the sensor whether i did it in the car or in the motel. It was really really annoying.

I suscribe to Digital Camera Mag (UK mag) and they gave a favorable review of the Sigma 18-200mm and recommended it over everything else except the Nikkor 18-200. At the same time, i've seen some favorable reviews of the Tamron 18-250mm (which gives me just a teeny bit more range). The racetrack i'm going to this year is the same one, and I'll have a media pass so I'll be close to the action.

Autofocus doesn't have to be blazingly fast, but it is a factor. I haven't read anyone saying which of the two brands in 70-300 is better at it.
I also have a monopod now, which i'll use for cloudier days.

Help me out please

08-27-2007, 07:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Have a look at blwnhr's threads on the Sigma 50-500 (Bigma) thread for motorsport ... recently went to a motorcycle track day with great success.
08-27-2007, 07:49 AM   #3

Original Poster