Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2010, 06:20 PM   #1

Pentax K-x lenses: which kit to buy

Hi,
I am totally new to SLR photography, but have decided it is time to try out something new as my daughters are growing up so rapidly and I want to try and preserve as many memories as possible. I have done a lot of research to try and find the right camera for me, and I am settled on the Pentax K-x. What I really need help with is two things 1) Is it worth while spending the extra money to get the camera package that contains two lenses or would I be better off not getting the extra lens and waiting until I am comfortable with the camera to get a second lens.
2)The is nowhere near to where we live to take a class to learn how to use the camera to its full potential so I thought it might be worthwhile ordering a book....but what book? Any suggestions?

Not that it matters but I am getting the camera in navy

Thanks in advance for the advice
Kate

08-27-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Post approved & moved to the lens section.

The 2 lens kit consists of the DA L 18-55mm kit lens, and the DA L 55-300mm tele lens. Let me start out by saying that if you're looking to keep costs down, your cheapest all-around package would be the 2-lens kit. However, the 55-300mm is more of a telephoto (long zoom) lens, and it sounds like you're more interested in taking family photos and portraits. If that's the case and you don't need the added reach, then I think that by all means, the regular 18-55mm kit lens.

To answer #2: photography is a huge and ever-evolving subject. You can take classes, read up online, or, best of all- ask your questions here, and check out our pentax/photography articles section.

BTW, why not turn to B&H or Adorama for your K-x purchase? Just check out my signature. You could get free forum perks while you're at it

Adam