Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2010, 11:52 PM   #1

Best m42 adaptor

Hey there, I'm new to the forum, and the world of dslr photography. But I've been shooting with film for a few years. I picked up a k10d a few weeks ago, and I ordered a m42 to k mount adaptor on ebay. It goes on and off fine, but all my lenses screw in "upside down", the focus indicator ends up at the bottom of the camera. Does the genuine adapter place the focus indicator at the top of the camera where it should be? or is there another third party adapter that does?

Normally this isn;t an issue, but I would like to be able to see roughly what the focus is at and the aperature with some of my lenses. I hope to eventually becoma an active member on here, and learn more about dslr photography, but I'd love to be able to pull focus easier with my m42 lenses.

Any help or recommendations are greatly appreciated, as well as personal experiences with adaptors. Also, sorry if this in the wrong section, I've only taken a quick peek though the forums.

08-30-2010, 11:55 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's weird. All my flush fit adapters (5) set the lens right way up. Not sure if they are all actual Pentax ones.
Maybe you have an Australian version
Pete
08-31-2010, 12:25 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
M42-PK adaptor? Isn't the Pentax made the best already?
08-31-2010, 12:28 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Make sure you source a genuine Pentax K mount adapter. Part number 30120.

08-31-2010, 12:33 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
This is why you need to buy the genuine Pentax adapter. There's not much you can do besides shimming the adapter, which would alter infinity focus. Just chalk this up to a lesson learned and purchase the genuine Pentax one.
08-31-2010, 01:58 AM   #6
Inactive Account

Heed these comments!