Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2010, 11:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

HELP ! M42 lenses values ?3rd party pentax mount

As a dslr camera newbie I'm about to throw in the towel and go back to my basic point & shoot camera. Tried all the suggested settings but photos underexposed even at f2.8 I really have tried !and it's taking all the fun out it.
So I am looking for some feedback as to whether there is a market for my M42 Pentax screwmount lenses.If so, they are going to their new homes !

Teleconvertor 2+ 1 MC Vivitar

28mm f1.28 + Macro. Praktica

50mm f1.2 Sears (some say it's Mamiya originally ?)

75-135mmZoom Sears ( as noted above) " "

My Pentax camera is an istDL2 with standard 18-55 DA SMC lens, any help would be really appreciated .Thanks ...Pemarp

08-31-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
note that M42 lenses have a tendancy to under expose by about 1-2 stops, but they can be used very effectively by setting the exposure compensation accordingly.

I suggest what you do is try taking a shot of a uniformly lit road, concrete or asphalt pathway or block wall, at each aperture and look at the histogram. Then move the exposure compensation to the +ve side, until the histogram of the lens setting with the mean exposure, (i.e. the one in the middle of the range between most under exposed to least under exposed) is in the middle of the histogram, and shoot that way.

it only takes a few minutes to figure out the correct compensation for each lens.

Once done, if they are all different, you could go as far as putting a label on each lens with the preferred setting so you don't forget.
08-31-2010, 12:11 PM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

1) Shoot in M mode.

2) Select fixed ISO.

3) Select your desired aperture.

4) Don't know your camera, but use Green button properly set (got one?) to lock in the shutter speed.

5) Start smiling.