Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2010, 04:13 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How can I evaluate a used lens?

I'm a DSLR newbie, had my K-x (with 2 lens kit including the 55-300mm) for around a month.

I'm interested in several lenses but figure firstly I'll get an 18-250mm, both because of it's versatility (I'll attack IQ later), and the fact that it's no longer in production. I think it's been OOP since at least January 2010. AFAIK, it doesn't matter if I get the Tamron or the Pentax version. I saw a post saying the lens is really the same, including the coatings (said the coatings on the Pentax version look different from the other Pentax SMC lenses, so the coatings are probably the same as for the Tamron version).

Well, I found a listing for a used Pentax 18-250mm and the seller says he's selling it because he's returned his camera to Amazon. Says he bought the lens used on ebay (in "like new condition", quotes by current seller). How can I evaluate the lens to make sure it's OK? I could bring my K-x and a laptop to view photos (the seller lives ~15 miles from me). What can I do to put the lens through the necessary paces? The seller is asking $369, says it has the hood.

09-02-2010, 04:30 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Most problems are found by examining the lens. You'll want to check the glass and shine light through the lens. Smudges, dust, haze, or fungus are what you're looking for, and of course shouldn't be there. You'll also want to smell the lens- some lenses come from homes where people smoked, and as a result, lenses can get irreversibly smelly.

Most importantly, you'll want to check that all moving parts on the lens are in good working order. This includes the focusing ring, the zoom ring, and the aperture ring, if available. Also, make sure that nothing else outside on the barrel is loose, and that the lens makes no rattling sounds when shaken.