Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-06-2010, 08:52 PM   #1
Forum Member

Autofocus test

I recently bought a used 77ltd and because I have a short guarantee so if there are any problems then I want to find them before the guarantee runs out. Over the past few months I have got the impression that it misses focus more often than my da70 does and when my da70 does it is my fault. I'm a bad photographer, my judgement is not always correct. So tested this impression by photographing similar scenes with both lenses. The da70 didn't miss once. Attached are the images the 77ltd struggled with.
AV, center point,
1 The centre point is on the silver metal post. I expected it to miss and it did every time

2 The centre point is on the left red and white square. I did not expect a problem but all I got was a flashing green hexagon.

3 The centre point is on the blue area next to the large s. I expected it to struggle because the tones are similar.

The 77 should, because it focuses at a wider aperture of f1.8, be more accurate than the 70 but it is not. The da70 had no problems focusing.

Therefore I tend to think it is a lens problem and not the autofocus mechanism. Unfortunately I live in Japan and because my Japanese language ability is limited I cannot discuss this with anyone here so I rely on the good will of the experienced members on forums like this for advice.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Attached Images

09-07-2010, 11:31 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you using center focus, or letting the camera choose the focus point? If it's the latter, I doubt it's the lens's fault.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)