Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2007, 01:36 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
My M42 adapter arrives, I am in LOVE

My m42 adapter from BHPhoto arrived yesterday and I have been playing with my old Praktica M42 lens. My first test is on my Pentagon 50mm f/1.8. I do have problems in getting the exposure. Somehow, I need to add +2 on Ev in order to get picture properly exposed. I have no idea why that is happening. Here are few samples of indoor testing done earlier. I am new to both my K100D and all the gears with M42, so mistakes are all mine and my inexperience and impatience to get things right:

Flickr Photoset
Pentagon M42 50mm f/1.8 Test Shots - a photoset on Flickr

I find it quite sharp and the M42 adapter from bhphoto costing $14.99, though not the original pentax M42 adapter, works quite well and no focusing problems noted so far, I have not tried at infinity but a farther distance.

The manual focusing on M42 lens on my K100D is much easier than I thought. I previously bought a $37 Takumar Asahi 28-80 Macro and I thought the manual focusing is good but after using the M42 lens, there is no comparison as the M42 lens that I have with Pentagon has twice the focusing ring length than my Takumar. I am in awe with the M42 and with skills yet to be built up in M focusing, I am really IN LOVE with Pentax for the inexpensive choices that are quite extensive. Comments, critiques, corrections and thoughts are welcome.

Previous thoughts on my Takumar
Thoughts on Takumar Asahi 28-80 Macro - Hin's Tech Corner

All pictures test with Takumar
Hin's Tech Corner