Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2007, 09:45 AM   #1

A Few Questions for Film Users

After purchasing my K100 my girlfriend made a switch to Pentax and I thought Id give her it and buy a second used body to use as a backup/main body. Now Im low on cash [ <300CAD ] so I thought maybe trying out film would be interesting.. Now I have very little experience with film! I used a film P&S for a year and thats about it! So I was wandering if some people could answer a few questions!

1. What type of film do you guys shoot? 35mm? Medium Format [ that is still film right? ]?

2. How do you get your negatives done? Your own darkroom? Local drugstore?

3. What do you do with them? [ negs ] Scan? Print?

4. and if you can only answer one please answer this one! Why do you still shoot film? Why not make the move to digital? Isn't film a lot more expensive/time consuming than digital?

Thanks guys!

EDIT: Ah darn I was in the wrong forum/posted in the wrong forum! Mods/Admins do you mind moving it?

Last edited by Mikhail; 09-03-2007 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Wrong forum
09-03-2007, 11:11 AM   #2
Veteran Member

...#4 is what I was going to say... Moneywise I think you are better off sticking to digital! The camera costs more, but you definitely save money and space in the long run.

Did you post this in the film section? ....cuz ya should
09-03-2007, 11:01 PM   #3

O.K., I'll bite in spite of the thread being in the wrong list.
1) I use both 35mm and medium format, in about equal amounts. I'd add that I also use digital a little here and there.
2) Both, but far more at home in my own darkroom; color negatives are still better than digital for long exposures and (for me) because I happen to have a 15mm lens (not Pentax) and no way to capture similar views with my digital setup.