Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2010, 07:44 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help with lens

I am fairly new to the photography scene.... I love macro but my kit lens just doesn't do it for me anymore I was searching macro lens' and I saw some that attach to the lens you currently have?? What is the difference (other than price, obviously) and what should I start out with? I have also seen people using tubes and such?? Maybe I need to take a class Thanks for any info

09-16-2010, 07:59 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
It all comes down to price, quality and convenience.

If you get a fairly high quality attachment the image quality will be okay but not great. A tube allows you to use a high quality lens but then the autofocus won't work, so it's more work. A dedicated macro lens, which can be quite expensive, works with autofocus (provided it's an autofocus lens). Personally I use bellows (you also lose autofocus, but it gives high magnification and allows the use of high quality lens. SO the short answer is this:

Lens attachment: cheap, lower quality, easy to use
Tubes: cheap. better quality, somewhat harder to use
Dedicated macro: high quality, expensive, easier to use
09-16-2010, 08:15 AM   #3
Site Supporter

A "true" macro lens can also have some design features such as being optimized for a flat field.

I have the "relatively" inexpensive Tamron 90 which can also be used for portraits or other subjects where the that focal length is appropriate. It is also f2.8 which is a bit faster than what you might get by putting an attachment on a f4-5.6 zoom. (It turns out I'm not really a macro person, and have hardly used the lens :-(

Although many macro lenses are AF, you will usually want to MF anyway at these close distances because AF not exact.

However, many of the best macro people on this forum use "old" manual equipment with various degrees of DYI flashes and other equipment in various configurations.