Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-18-2010, 12:31 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Location: Living in Vancouver, BC, born in Melbourne Australia
Photos: Albums
LBA 24mm dilemma

Okay. Here's my problem....

I own the Sigma 24mm Super Wide. Great lens.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/userreviews/Sigma-24mm-F2.8-Super-Wide-II-for-Pentax.html

An FA*24mm F2 has just come up locally for sale at a pretty good price.

Can I justify it? I've read the reviews. Sounds like a beautiful lens.
The sigma is great because of its size. I take that and the FA 50 1.7 hiking, but I'm not sure about the size of the FA 24.

I don't think I could justify holding onto the sigma and the FA.

Has anyone who has owned both these lenses got any feedback for me?

Also, how does the Fa 24 compare to the DA 21? Should I consider this as an option? It'd be a similar outlay.

I also own the sigma 10-20mm. Which I love.
I'm an Architect and I love to shoot buildings so wide angles are what I love.

Thanks in advance.
Andrew

Last edited by lats; 09-18-2010 at 12:46 AM.
09-18-2010, 12:48 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you do happen to go for the FA, I also live in Vancouver, and would definitely love to take that Sigma off your hands depending on what you ask for it
09-18-2010, 12:53 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I used to have the Sigma 24/2.8 and then the FA*24/2. IMHO, the Sigma has better sharpness, contrast and colour, but really weak on flare control and built quality (rubber & contact pin worn out very fast). The Pentax cannot focus as close and the overall image quality is just inferior to the Sigma, with pronounced donut bokeh. I have never used the DA21, but I am confidence if you are looking for the best wide in this range, the ZK 21/2.8 will beat just about any lens available. ZK18/3.5 is another option. I have found the photozone test results match my experience pretty well so you might check them out.
09-18-2010, 01:31 AM   #4
Veteran Member