Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2010, 12:37 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Wide angle converter

Ok, so I have never used a wide angle converter, or even see someone use one for that matter so I am kind of a noob here. Anyway, I currently have been messing around with night portraits in the city, messing around with the bokeh and what not. I have been using a fairly cheap 50 mm f1.4 lens with my kx. My problem is that in order to keep the background out of focus I must be much closer to the subject than I would like. Now, I know a wide angle converter definitely wont help image quality, but will it necessarily hurt it in the situation I am in? I am a broke college student so the converters I have been looking at are pretty cheap (<$70). I just have no idea how this may distort image quality. Anyone have any experience or suggestions?

09-23-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by turff Quote
Ok, so I have never used a wide angle converter, or even see someone use one for that matter so I am kind of a noob here. Anyway, I currently have been messing around with night portraits in the city, messing around with the bokeh and what not. I have been using a fairly cheap 50 mm f1.4 lens with my kx. My problem is that in order to keep the background out of focus I must be much closer to the subject than I would like. Now, I know a wide angle converter definitely wont help image quality, but will it necessarily hurt it in the situation I am in? I am a broke college student so the converters I have been looking at are pretty cheap (<$70). I just have no idea how this may distort image quality. Anyone have any experience or suggestions?