Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2010, 07:02 AM   #1
Forum Member

50-135mm SDM problem not a myth

I wanted the Pentax DA* 50-135mm for my wedding shoots, and I wanted it bad! What an amazing lens with a near perfect range to compliment my Tam 17-50mm and allow more reach than my Tam 28-75mm! Countless hours of looking for an alternative to this lens and I have seen nothing in this range that is as good optically at both focal extremes and as usable wide open. I read debate after debate. Is the SDM failure only a vocal minority complaining or an inevitability for all owners?

Yesterday, I visited my local dealer, for one more fondling of this lens, ala Mike Myers and "the" Fender Strat in Wayne's World, "It will be mine. Oh yes, it will be mine!" Mounted on a KX body I turned it on and gave my best, "I know what I'm doing, I'm a pro" focus test and......nothing. Hmm, must need to flip both the lens AF/MF switch to AF. Oh it is. Must be that the camera switch needs to ...oh, it is. Sensing the retail clerks impatience with me, as though she had something more important to attend to, I handed her the camera back. She gave it her best, "stand back, I'M a professional" and nothing....After switching the switches, cycling the power and pointing it around the room a bit, it suddenly began to autofocus, as though it had just awakened and noticed the user would like to begin shooting now. And this is a brand new lens, albeit a display.