Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-29-2010, 09:48 PM   #1

Should I sell these lenses to fund a DA70mm?

Hi all.

I'm new to this forum. I have been using a K7 for several months, and am just starting to feel comfortable with it (its not my first DSLR but is my first Pentax).

My question is for those experienced with various pentax lenses.

Before I ask the question, I do all sorts of photography, from landscape to portrait to street, whatever takes my fancy, it's a hobby for me not a job.

So like all of us, funds are limited, I'd love to own a Pentax DA70 2.4 or similar, but to fund it I would need to let some lenses go.

I have an SMC-A 100 2.8 (non macro, awaiting delivery), SMC-A 35-105 and an SMC-A 50 1.7 these three are keepers and will not be sold.

The two I am thinking of selling are the 18-55WR kit lens and an SMC-F 70-210, what do you think? Considering what I will be keeping does it seem like a good idea to get rid of these two to purchase a DA70 2.4?

I would value any opinions or views on this. Thanks.

09-29-2010, 10:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well if you lose the 18-55 that will leave a big gap between 18-35. And will you be comfortable with having that gap?
Will you be buying the da70 new or used?
You could get around $100 for the 18-55 and i dont know the value of the 70-210? Will it be enough for the da70? Will you put money towards it?
09-29-2010, 10:50 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum and a belated welcome to the K7 club. I was going to say that if you are going to sell that A100 f2.8, Contact me (but then I read the rest of the sentence). The two you are considering selling, you aren't going to make much of a dent in a DA70 (or similar with them). It will also leave you without a wide angle of any sort if you've listed your entire set.