Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2007, 04:20 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Looking for advice on a 2nd lens

Hi,

I'm very new to SLR photography and lenses etc. I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of my K10D with 18-55 kit lens.

I am looking to get another lens that will allow me to shoot distant subjects - birds, wildlife, possibly some sporting events (motorsport, rugby, snowboarding etc) but could also be used as 'walkabout' lens (if I have understood the term correctly)

What lens would you recommend to a newbie like myself, do I need something that goes up to 300 or is 250 or even 200 going to be enough?

Cheers,
Techno~

09-08-2007, 04:41 AM   #2
Inactive Account

I could easily recommend the Pentax 50-200mm lens.

It is very small for its focal range. It is also dirt cheap. It sells for 199 Canadian. You cannot really go wrong for the price. It is a great inexpensive way to get some reach.

If you are looking for something with a little more reach, but also reasonably priced, you could look at a Sigma 70-300mm APO or the Tamron 70-300mm. The Sigma doesn't purple fringe as bad as the Tamron, but the Tamron has more sharpness. It’s a trade off between the two. The Tamron is also a lighter lens to carry around.
09-08-2007, 04:58 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the swift reply.

How bad is the purple fringing on the Tamron? Remembering that I am very new to this, is it something that I will notice and think it's my fault or is it something that only the pros would notice when printing out at A3+ sizes?

This site recommends a Sigma 58mm EX DG UV Filter for the Sigma but they don't recommend anything for the Tamron - does the Tamron have a built in filter or is it something that I should consider buying if I chose the Tamron.

Do you feel that the filter is a necessity at all?
09-08-2007, 05:15 AM   #4