Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-05-2010, 06:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Nikon[Ai F] & Canon[FD] to Pentax adapters: a few questions

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

My Situation:

Currently, [as a college student with a low budget] I have been shooting exclusively with my kit 18-55 and an old rebadge 80-200 tele/macro [which lacks infinite focus for some reason] and have been managing fairly well.

However, I am a staff photographer for the newspaper at my school which has an array of good Nikon zooms/teles.

Additionally, a relative has given me his old Canon A-1 [FD mount] with 3 lenses [wide, 50, tele].

My Goal:

Obviously, I would love to be able to use these lenses on my k-x. I have done my research and have found the adapters for these two mounts [Canon FD, Nikon AI]. Here are the links to these items:

Canon FD
Nikon AI

As I mentioned, I have done my research; and currently from all that i've read, there is no way to mount any of these lenses [with adapter] to my k-x without losing infinite focus. But in the descriptions, both adapters claim to be capable of infinite focus [thanks to a multi-coated correctional element]. So..

My Questions:

1: Have you [or anyone you know] tried either of these adapters?
2: If so, what is your/their opinion of them? And..
3: Do these adapters [with correctional element] allow the user to focus to infinite?

Thanks in advance
-Pat

10-05-2010, 07:11 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have the Canon FD adapter. The adapter does allow infinity focus, but acts as a 1.42x tele-extender. This makes a 28mm a 58mm on a crop sensor and a 50mm a 105mm on a crop sensor. It also ads 1 1/2 stops to the aperture.