Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-10-2007, 09:19 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
2nd copy of FA 50 f/1.4, better sharpness

I returned my 1st copy of FA 50 f/1.4 for an exchange after seeing many unusually soft pictures at f/4.0 in daylight and most indoor pictures at f/2.0. My 2nd copy arrived. I am so glad for the exchange and in daylight tests, all previous soft pictures are much improved though I am still learning with narrow dof.

I have untrained eyes but all pictures that I examine in 100% crop before reveal very unusual sharpness even with daylight pictures made in f/4.0, many test shots live can be seen and linked to my flickr account

Indoor on desktop
Pentax SMC FA 50 f/1.4 Test Shots - Hin's Tech Corner

Outdoor
Love is Kind - Hin's Photo Blog

Indoor low light with forced f/2.0 -- f/1.4
Happy Birthday to Sweetie Ben - Hin's Photo Blog

Though a lot of errors can come from my inexperience with narrow DOF, I felt that my first copy has very unusual soft pictures at f/4.0 in daytime and hence the exchange for 2nd copy of the lens.

Here are few pictures I took yesterday with the 2nd (exchanged copy) of my FA 50 f/1.4 and so far I am very satisfied with the 2nd copy and it is quite a difference with my 1st copy in terms of sharpness when cropped at 100%. I really like the color and contrast in that lens

#3 f/1.6 by mistakes but color comes out quite good though picture is
soft, nose is clear

#4 f/2.5

#5 f/2.5

#6 f/2.2

Comments and feedbacks are very welcome

Thanks,
Hin

Last edited by hinman; 09-28-2007 at 02:13 PM.
09-10-2007, 11:28 AM   #2

Out of curiosity, where did you order your lens from. I recently purchased this same lens from Adorama and am anxiously waiting delivery. I'll have to keep a look out for the soft focus issue.

Shawn
09-10-2007, 11:57 AM   #3
Pentaxian

could you post some shots with indoor lighting at night?
09-10-2007, 12:34 PM   #4
Veteran Member