Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2010, 04:59 PM   #1

Desperately NEED HELP choosing a lens

I own a Pentax K20D. It's amazing. Normally I'm a fashion photographer, but I'm heading into uncharted territory. I will be shooting some new concepts with many, many people in them, and lots of action!!! Locations will be dark, cavernous, and I will be utilizing some umbrella lighting.

Are there any suggestions on the type of lens that is best for this kind of production. Remember, a lot of people in each shot and plenty of action. Imagine a battle scene from Braveheart.

My budget is around $200.

10-13-2010, 05:04 PM   #2
Pentaxian

If you are a fashion photographer then I'd imagine you'd know a lot more than most about what you need in a lens. What focal length and speed are you after? Did you really mean $200 and not $2,000 budget?
10-13-2010, 05:23 PM   #3
rm2

Sounds like you need a fast wide lens. For $200 that is not easy to get. Then again:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/118164-my-new-...mm-f2-0-a.html

It also sounds like you could use the new high ISO abilities of the K-r and the K5. What is your time frame?
10-13-2010, 05:42 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by twitch Quote
If you are a fashion photographer then I'd imagine you'd know a lot more than most about what you need in a lens. What focal length and speed are you after? Did you really mean $200 and not $2,000 budget?
Yes, I REALLY meant $200. Unfortunately. As a fashion photographer, my location doesn't mean that I get non-stop jobs. SO...$200 is about all I've got. As for focal length and speed, I need high speed, and I'm not super educated on focal length.

10-13-2010, 05:43 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by rm2 Quote
Sounds like you need a fast wide lens. For $200 that is not easy to get. Then again: