Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2010, 12:57 PM   #1

DA21 Bug: Bump'n'Stick

I adore my lil' DA21; and its without a doubt one of my most used lenses. As a result (and because I tend to be unintentionally hard on my gear), I've discovered a weird quirk in the design of the lens, and was wondering if anyone else has experienced the same thing.

In short, a blow (or bump) of sufficient force to the front of the lens will cause the focus mechanism to bind; not completely, but it will jam up and feel as if the barrel is rubbing against itself.

The first time this happened, my heart sank– my favorite lens, ruined! Being a student, I hardly had the disposable income to replace it. After trying unsuccessfully to fix it by gentle tapping or turning, I gave up. Luckily, after moping around town the rest of the afternoon, the lens got *another* bump, and just like in the movies, everything was working perfectly again!

Being the worry-wart that I am, I did thorough tests to make sure everything was indeed working fine, and it was. Focus is fast, smooth, and accurate.

Since then, I've had the lens bumped a few more times, and every time, another fortuitous (or pained and carefully aimed) bump fixes it. Finally, the last time it happened, I experimented a bit and found that simply gripping the front barrel tightly and turning it counter-clockwise about half a millimeter fixes the problem every time, and that turning it the other direction can reproduce it.

I'm far from an expert on what goes on inside a lens, so I was wondering if someone might be able to shed some light on what might be happening in these situations, and if there's anything I can do to "tighten up" the mechanism (I figure being able to turn the barrel isn't a *good* thing).

10-14-2010, 01:00 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery