Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2010, 08:51 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Samyang 85mm vs DA* 55mm at F1.4

Hello all,

I'm interested in buying a large-aperture portrait lens, and I'm looking at these two. The difference in price for the DA* 55mm would be covered by selling the DA 70.

I have limited experience with F1.4 (I actually recently sold the FA 50 1.4to fund the DA 15, but that was before I got really interested in this for portraits...and I didn't really like the FA 50 at 1.4 either).

My question is, can I get this look...

Smiling bokeh | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

...with the DA* 55? Or do I need to go to the 85 to get this narrow a depth of field? The photo in the link is with a D700, so I realize I can't exactly duplicate the look re: DOF (or can I? Would an A 135mm 2.8 work?), but I'd like to get close. Any of you with extensive large aperture experience want to chime in? Thanks!

Todd

10-26-2010, 09:42 AM   #2
Pentaxian

AFAIK it's the number and shape of the aperture blades that largely determine the bokeh, not so much the max. aperture.

Whilst I don't have one I understand the new 100mm Macro WR has superb bokeh because of the rounded aperture blades. Whether this would make a good portrait lens I'm not sure; a lot depends on what your working distance (from the subject) would be.

At least one of the sample shots taken with the 55mm (see Lenses section) shows comparable bokeh with your example.

Last edited by JohnX; 10-26-2010 at 09:48 AM.
10-26-2010, 09:54 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
it would rely on the distance and aperture opening. you will still be able to isolate the subject but not as shallow as that on a FullFrame, although focus would be more forgiving on the APS-C.

as for lens suggestion for wide open portraits use with great bokeh and isolation, get a cheap manual focus lens 55/1.8.
10-26-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by gnaztee Quote