Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2007, 10:39 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Sigma TeleZoom Dilemma - Need Advice

I am an advanced amateur when it comes to Wildlife Photography, but have a good friend that knows his "photography" etc. so I have him to consult from time to time. Have done some research in selecting a starter wildlife lens and have two choices in the Sigma 50-500mm F4/6.3 (Bigma) & the Sigma 100-300mm F4. My biggest question lies with the 100-300 F4; there does not seem to be many reviews are info in regards to its use. I have searched hi & low for it; I have found several phrases that reference the lens as a very good lens, but still no concrete review from a wild-liferís perspective or point of view. Anyone use or know of this lens? If so, pros/cons? What will it yield me??

On the other hand there are countless reviews on the "Bigma" and I have read a great deal of them, etc. From what I have read and friends I have spoken to, I have a decision to make b/w these two lenses. My plan for the 100-300mm would be to use in conjunction w/ a 1.4 or 2.0 TC. As stated by a friend, the "close" factor of the "Bigma" is very attractive almost blinding, but the versatility of the 100-300mm fixed F4 for lighting is far greater in his opinion.

One good thing about me is that I am a converted hunter who would rather now shoot his prey with a camera rather than with a weapon, I am not afraid to get dirty, crawl, wade, wait, or whatever the case may be. I would like to photograph birds of all kinds and mammals as well. Filling the frame on a Cardinal (my favorite) under a dimly light tree canopy and having that image sharp is the quest I am looking for. I realize the pocket book will not get me there tomorrow, but I can start somewhere can't I???

Any info on this dilemma will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

09-17-2007, 10:59 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Suggest this sight for reviews of the Sigma 100-300 f4 lens