Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2010, 02:41 AM   #1

which macro on a smaller budget

Hi There

just wondering about a 1:1 macro lens for the insect shots and maybe a little portrait work. I'm new to dslr and own a kx with the standard lens and an old tokina SD 1:4 5.5 70 - 210. I'm keen to buy either a smc dfa Pentax 50mm f2.8 Macro Lens $219.00 or

Cosina AF Macro 100mm f3.5 Pentax PKA Lens 1:1 Adaptor $150.00 plus

What would you guys recommend...is the pentax lens all that much better?
Cheers

11-05-2010, 05:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
why not look at manual focus macros

there are lots of good takumar and K mount macros available for less than $100.
11-05-2010, 12:26 PM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by screwedon Quote
Hi There

just wondering about a 1:1 macro lens for the insect shots and maybe a little portrait work. I'm new to dslr and own a kx with the standard lens and an old tokina SD 1:4 5.5 70 - 210. I'm keen to buy either a smc dfa Pentax 50mm f2.8 Macro Lens $219.00 or

Cosina AF Macro 100mm f3.5 Pentax PKA Lens 1:1 Adaptor $150.00 plus

What would you guys recommend...is the pentax lens all that much better?
Cheers
The D FA if you can swing it is a very nice macro lens. The focus distance will be closer than a 90 or 100mm 1:1 macro lens, but is very workable with insects. If you can go that route for $219, I recommend it because that lens can be used as a general af lens as well.
11-06-2010, 06:24 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Manual macro lenses often cost rather less than AF macros. Even cheaper: enlarger lenses on extension (bellows and tubes). BUT: AF / auto-aperture lenses work more easily with flash. Getting flash right with non-aperture-automation (non-A-type) lenses can be frustrating.