Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2010, 06:38 AM   #1

i need a little help choosing a lens...

hello everyone!
since i bought 2 manual focus lenses (50mm and a 100mm) i want to expand my range into wider fields.

right now im looking at that lens,

Vivitar 24mm f2.8 Auto-aperture MC close-focusing Lens Reviews - Pentax Third-Party Lens Review Database

since i think that 24mm would be quite the focal length that would suit me. now the question is, will this lens give better results than the Kx Kit lens at that lenght, or should i just save the money for a 21ltd? (i know everyone will say go for the 21, but im a student and so money is tight..)

or maybe any other suggestions?

thanks in advance!

11-05-2010, 07:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I use a 28mm 2.8 as a wide-normal, and I love it for that purpose. The lens itself I have never tried, but the reviews look favorable. The great thing about this lens is that it's approximately the equivalent of a 35mm lens for film, which is a classic photojournalist field of view. It will be great for capturing scenes. Also the aperture is faster than the 21 ltd. Obviously the 21ltd is going to have it's own strengths too, but this lens looks like a great addition to a 50 and a 100!

The nice thing is that autofocus becomes less and less necessary as you go wider (as your DOF increases), so this lens should be easy enough to use compared to the DA 21.

Don't fool yourself, this lens will not give you better results than the DA 21... but this lens should not be very expensive compared to the 500 dollars for the DA 21. My experiences with vintage budget glass is not that it outperforms modern counterparts, but can often give expensive equivalents a run for it's money!
11-05-2010, 07:42 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums