Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2010, 10:34 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Good Protective Filter for Tamron 10-24

I want to get a filter (77mm) for the Tamron 10-24 lens I just ordered. I intend to use the lens outdoors and want the peace of mind knowing that the lens is protected by the filter (I'm stating this because I realize many people prefer to shoot without protective filters to obtain the best IQ but I'm not one of them-just my personal preference).
The question I have is which protective filter should I consider? I read that the slimmer types might be better with wide angles. I'd also like to get a polarizing filter.
I'm not a pro so I don't need to have the absolute best - just filters that will do the job at a mid level price.
Thanks

11-05-2010, 11:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Lenstip did a good UV filter test. I personally use both Hoya and lately, Marumi (Super DHG) filters. Don't get a polarizer for that lens - polarizers don't work properly on wide-angle lenses.
11-05-2010, 01:35 PM   #3

Original Poster
thanks Nater- I didn't know that about WA lenses & polarizers.
11-05-2010, 01:57 PM   #4
Veteran Member

For a wide angle, be sure to get a slim-frame filter. Although the UV-filtering itself is not really needed with digital sensors a UV filter probably makes most sense for protection as they are reasonably cheap, yet come multicoated. Although the latter might not matter most of the time a protective filter tends to be on when it does. The lenstip test referred to above is great (executive summary: the multicoated Hoya UV(C) is top quality, yet the price is reasonable).

11-05-2010, 02:07 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Take a look at the front element and make sure it doesn't bubble out too much. Some filters may not fit on it all together.
11-05-2010, 03:30 PM   #6
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by nater Quote