Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2010, 08:37 PM   #1

Is the F number constant or does it change?

I just ordered a Pentax SMCP-DA 17-70mm f/4 AL (IF) SDM for the new K-7. I haven't got them yet but the lens says it's a constant f/4 yet some of the pictures uploaded in that lens review section show a photo to be taken at f/7.1.

How can the f/number change if it's suppose to be a constant f/4??

I'm new at this and obviously, don't understand the aperture ratings of these lens.
Thanks.

11-05-2010, 08:46 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

The f/4 is the maximum aperture of the lens, and remains f/4 throughout the zoom range.
Note that a lot of zooms do get slower (smaller maximum aperture) as they are zoomed.
For example, the kit lens may be something like 18-55 f/3.5-5.6.
It will have a maximum aperture of 3.5 at 18mm, but will have slowed down to 5.6 at 55mm.

The f/7.1 is the taking aperture of the lens (IE, this is what the lens was set to when the picture was taken)

http://www.uscoles.com/fstop.htm
11-05-2010, 10:17 PM   #3

Original Poster
f number

So when they say the f/# is "constant", they mean the "maximum size" (smallest f/#, largest hole) f/# is f/4. The f/# can be larger (smaller hole, f/8) but no smaller f/# than f/4.

The "constant" description of f/4 is (for me) misleading since I thought it could not be changed and never varied. Thanks.... it's still somewhat confusing.
11-05-2010, 10:20 PM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by wrconley Quote
So when they say the f/# is "constant", they mean the "maximum size" (smallest f/#, largest hole) f/# is f/4. The f/# can be larger (smaller hole, f/8) but no smaller f/# than f/4.

The "constant" description of f/4 is (for me) misleading since I thought it could not be changed and never varied. Thanks.... it's still somewhat confusing.