Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2010, 12:10 AM   #1

New lenses, which ones?

I'm a beginner and a little confused, so I need some advices before to spend a lot of money in lenses.

I own a K7 with the 18-55wr and the 55-300.

I've already decided for the Pentax DA 10-17mm F3-5-4.5 ED (IF) Fish-Eye, I guess it's the best fish-eye in the market for a Pentax.

For low light condition and indoor I was thinking about the Pentax FA 50mm F1.4 but I don't know if for that price (around $360) there's something better. Should I consider also the DA 35mm F2.4 AL?

Two more lenses for now should be enough but just for future reference which macro lens do you recommend? Here I don't have any idea!

The 18-55wr that I have is not bad in my opinion but sometimes I feel like I need something wider ... any other suggestion?

Thanks for reading,

Daniele

Last edited by Daniele; 11-09-2010 at 01:45 AM. Reason: Typo
11-09-2010, 01:30 AM - 1 Like   #2
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So far you are set up nicely.
For the low ligh? Well 50 is quite good although some say tad soft wide open. I only shot it once so can't really say. From personal experience I would recommend F/FA50/1.7. Great lens and plenty sharp even wiode open. Very fasr to AF and with good high ISO the half stop difference won't show so badly. What I would recommend though is to check what focal length you use indoors (I suppose that's where most of low light will be) and consider other lenses such as Sigma 30/1.4, FA35/2 or so... 50 is tad longer. It makes nice short portrait length but isn't everybody's cup of tea...

As far as macro goes: they are all good. DFA (WR or not) are the smallest. Sigma 105 is biggest and heaviest. Opticaly there is very little noticable difference so it's a tough call here. Depends on the need of WR, size and weight considerations and budget.

Wide angle? 10-20 early version gets my vote.

Good luck