Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2010, 10:32 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Pick 1 from 4

I am looking to buy a new lens before a trip in about a year or so. I am a college student, so money is tight and thats why I need to save for that long lol.

I will likely be getting a K-5 with the 18-55mm WR lens soon. I would like to buy one more lens between now and the trip.

I have narrowed it down to the following:

Sigma 24-70mm 1:2.8 HSM EX (Convenient walk around, better quality than kit lens)

Sigma 10-20 1:3.5 HSM (interested in doing wide angle stuff, thought this'd be a good place to start)

Pentax 40mm Ltd. (Legendary quality and small, convenient size)

Sigma 70-200 1:2.8 HSM (Played with it, like it a lot but not sure how functional it will be for the trip)

They all have benefits and negatives. For my trip, I will be headed to London and will be going to a bunch of places around Europe. I will be with a school group so I won't have all the time in the world to take photos and get them perfect, I will need to have some level of flexibility with my lenses (hence the 24-70mm zoom). The 40m I really like the idea of because I could stick that on the K-5 and take it everywhere with me without having to carry a ton of weight. The 10-20 I think would be fantastic for the views when I can't set up or don't have my tripod. The 70-200 is more something I want, but don't know how much use I'll get from it, so it almost doesn't count.

The basic question for the 24-70 is, is it much better than the 18-55? If not I would rather have one of the other lenses, like the 10-20 or the 40mm. Heck, I could get both of those for the cost of the 24-70...

Anyway, opinions are appreciated. Thanks guys!

11-16-2010, 10:39 AM   #2

i would go for 10-20 and the 40 lim.
but that's me)
11-16-2010, 10:44 AM   #3
Site Supporter

anything f2.8 will be much better than the kit lens.