Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-19-2010, 06:56 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens hood and filter for Takumur K Mount 135mm F2.5

Hi,

I have read the bad reviews (and a few OK reviews) of this lens - but there is one in my local camera shop for £40, so I think it's worth a pop. From the reviews, I am guessing that it may be helped by a coated filter and a big lens hood. I am a bit of a newbie, so please could I have some recommendation/thoughts about good choices - also about whether this will make enough of a difference...

Thanks,

Jez

11-19-2010, 07:17 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

look at B&W metal hoods from germany go for the 960 series, a little pricy, but very well made
11-19-2010, 07:37 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Great, thanks. What about filters? I am looking at the HOYA UV(0) HMC Multi Coated - or that kind of thing?
11-19-2010, 08:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If memory serves correctly, the lens has a built-in hood. Have you tried using that?

11-19-2010, 09:21 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Yes it does, but I was wondering whether it's big enough. I am going to be using it with a K10D, and the crop factor increases the focal length. So - a bigger lens hood than the built in one? I may be barking up the wrong tree here, but that's why I posted in the first place.
11-19-2010, 11:40 AM - 1 Like   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jeztastic Quote
Yes it does, but I was wondering whether it's big enough. I am going to be using it with a K10D, and the crop factor increases the focal length. So - a bigger lens hood than the built in one? I may be barking up the wrong tree here, but that's why I posted in the first place.