Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2010, 09:59 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Help/advise regarding Sigma 30mm

Hello,

I'm looking into buying a secondhand Sigma EX 30mm f/1.4 lens (or something similar), however I'm too new into photography and therefor need a bit help and perhaps some advise.

I own a Pentax K-x and currently have the 18-55mm and 50-200mm kit lenses.

What I'm looking for:
A wide angle lens - somewhere between 20-35mm. Lower is better.
A fast lens - preferably f/2.0 or faster (I have no experience with such lenses, but judging by the pics I've seen, I'd say this is what I want.
Sharpness (edge sharpness doesn't matter too much. Depends on how "bad" it is)

Type of photography:
Indoor/low light - preferably without use of flash.
"Artistic" shooting with lots of blur/shallow DoF.

Budget:
About 625USD.

I found the mentioned lens which will cost me about 375USD including shipment. I'm assuming this is older than the HSM lens that can be seen on Sigma site. What are the differences? Is the price OK? And how is the quality for this particular lens (I've seen a number of posts about the dodgy quality of Sigma lenses).

Also, what will work and what wont? I'm thinking in terms of AF, and whatnot.

I've been provided with these pics:

100% crop:

12-12-2010, 03:19 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, those don't appear to be astounding sample shots, but the price sounds like it's about in the ballpark. I'm not too familiar with the going prices of the various models, but you can see the Lens reviews sections right here for some details.

Here's the version you're looking at, I think:

Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC Lens Reviews - Pentax Third-Party Lens Review Database

This thread may end up getting moved to the Lenses forum, you'll probably get more answers there.