Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2010, 08:16 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Planar vs Tessar

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi,

I had a question regarding planar and tessar lenses. Can anyone explain the differences between the two? What are advantages between one and another? What kind are Pentax limiteds?

I recently saw a post that briefly talked about this, and it got my curiosity up. Anyone who cares to elaborate, the stage is yours!

12-15-2010, 08:20 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Let me google that for you

12-15-2010, 09:27 AM - 4 Likes   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I recall bringing this one up, but I am no expert.

The DA limited 21, 40, and 70 are tessar designs. They have a smaller maximum aperture, really even sharpness across the frame, lower peak sharpness than planar, but better sharpness wide open or closed all the way down. In short, they tend to be very "even" throughout the aperture range. This lens design is a century old. In my experience, the slower tessar lenses (with modern coatings) let in slightly more light at a given aperture than their planar counterparts at the same aperture, because there are less lens elements in tessar designs.

Most other lenses are planar of some sort, although not all of them. They are a little larger, have more lens elements, are considerably faster, but also much softer wide open than tessar lenses. Peak sharpness is often higher for the planar lenses. Corners tend to be softer on planar lenses than on tessar lenses, which can actually be seen as a desirable, or undesirable, trait (depends on whether you are attempting to isolate the subject or not).