Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2010, 06:23 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
CZJ Tessar metering

Hi

I'm new to the world of DSLRs and have taken the plunge with a K-r, which I am very happy with. I've been playing around with an old CZJ Tessar 50mm F2.8 on it, as well some other older MF lenses. I really like the Tessar but one thing about it perplexes me. I use it on Av, which works fine, but underexposes by about two stops. It's not a problem as I just dial in the appropriate compensation but I was wondering what the explanation is. None of the other lenses I use require this. Is it a known characteristic of the Tessar and why?

12-15-2010, 07:06 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi
I have the same lens, excellent glass.
When the lens is painted so the camera contacts are not shorted out, It for some reason
will do that. Does not depend on the lens as it is the firmware that controls it.
I used to use 1.7 ev but now have stripped the contact area on all of my M42 lenses.
Just don't try to sand off the paint as you will get some grit into the lens.
Just remove the base ( 3 screws ) before. At the same time you can block the Auto pin to allow manual aperture settings.
Use very fine water paper, 600 or 1000 grit followed by scotchbrite to polish the surface so
as not to scrape the camera contacts. Not too hard and will work fine.
12-16-2010, 02:21 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
Hi Bobpur

Thanks for this. Might give this a go when I feel a bit more confident about modifying lenses.

Mike
12-16-2010, 03:43 AM   #4
Veteran Member