Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2010, 05:58 AM   #1

Super-Multi-Coated Takumar (M42) vs. Pentax-M (K-mount)

Hi,

I have about 3 Super-Multi-Coated Takumar lenses (55/1.8, 29/3.5 and 135/3.5) and recently got a SMC Pentax-M 50 1.7 which I like a lot. The coating looks a bit different on the M compared to the Tak's and I was wondering if there is a significant difference in optics quality between these two categories? . Thanks

12-16-2010, 06:26 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
SMC vs Takumar

I'm no expert but I believe that the SMC coatings are continually improved. Each glass surface loses some light to reflection. The better the coating the less the loss. Try say 10 elements with 7% loss each element vs 2.4% per element. The more elements the more losses. Resulting in a fainter image and loss of contract to internal scatter. That is one reason why simpler lenses such as the DA40 F2.8 - SMC-M 40/F2.8 produce such good images and get such high scores in the lens reviews on this site. (smaller and less elements)

Back to the coatings
Comparing my SMC-M 28mm F2.8 with Takumar Bayonet 28mm F2.8 .
The Pentax has a blue-crimson back reflection. The Takumar a pink-violet tone.
Checking the reflection of a room light shows the reflection to be brighter with the Takumar (coating is poorer compared with SMC). Secondly the front element of the Takumar is noticibly larger, strange considering they are both F2.8.

Last edited by Postumus; 12-16-2010 at 06:27 AM. Reason: Typo
12-16-2010, 12:09 PM   #3

Original Poster