Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2006, 04:55 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How may people use a filter to protect their lens? what's your favourate?

I was wondering how people felt about putting a filter at the end of the lens to protect it? Is it always on?. I have always done it, but I am not sure if I was loosing any photo quality from it.
what is your favourate type and manufacturer?

any opinions welcome!

thanks ahead of time

cheers

randy

12-06-2006, 05:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Randy,

I'm new to Pentax, but with Canon - filters stay on all the time on any oudoor use lenses. I've read much info on expensive Hoya filters and photographic comparison for quality to those of much less expensive brands... I honestly did not see a justifyable reason to spend $90+ on pro-digital Hoya's...

My outdoor/landscape photo's - I'm very happy with Fotodiox "slim line" filters... I also use their Circular Polarizer filter for landscapes - can make the colors really standout and appear fuller (specially leafs) by reducing the glare...

Just my $0.2

Regards,
D
12-06-2006, 05:56 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
In my film days when I was hoisting a 35mm specifically, I always kept a haze filter over the end. I was rough on cameras but I never damaged a lense. Have seen some pretty dramatic photos of dropped lenses/on and off camera that took the hit on the haze filter and the lense survived with minor scratches. Probably worth the investment. By the way you can pick up a Pro haze filter at Ritz Camera for less that $20 USD.
12-06-2006, 05:59 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I've got a Tiffen UV on my lens. It keeps the fingerprints off the front element, but I don't think about it much.

I've seen a bunch of broken lenses though, and more than a few busted filters. Who knows? It might save my bacon some day.

12-06-2006, 11:49 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums