Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-18-2010, 11:37 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Star & Limited lenses

Being a noob here, I have been reading all I can about Pentax lenses. I found this page "Pentax K-Mount Lens Series Explained: The differences between various Pentax lens series." I still have a question though:

I see that there are like 3 levels of lenses for each series, but what is the difference between the star lenses and the limited lenses?

12-18-2010, 11:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Star lenses - weather sealed and SDM
Limited - not weather sealed and screwdriven autofocus, extremely compact, both in absolute terms and compared to equivalents
All will give you quite excellent IQ.
12-19-2010, 01:15 AM - 1 Like   #3

Detailed explanations can be found here:

Pentax Lens Terminology
12-19-2010, 08:54 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thank's!

12-19-2010, 09:13 AM   #5
JHD
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
DA* lenses produce better images than DA Limiteds. That's not taking anything away from the Ltds - they are fine lenses - but the DA* series is better.
12-19-2010, 09:21 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Simply put

DA* > DA LTD > DA > DA-L

For pretty much all lens with some exceptions.
12-19-2010, 09:35 AM - 1 Like   #7
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I surprisingly find myself disagreeing with most of the answers posted.

A* lenses were the top-shelf 35mm film, manual focus lenses. They are still excellent lenses. I believe these were the first lenses to receive the * designation.

F* and FA* lenses were the top-shelf 35mm film lenses from the autofocus era. They are still excellent performers, both optically and in their physical construction.