Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-23-2010, 10:09 PM   #1

Perfect Future Travel Lens Set?

I am a fly fisherman and take photos for publication, so am in need of high quality glass. That being said I am also an amateur DSLR user without a lot of experience. Because I shoot when fly fishing, it means minimum lens changes and maximum versatility. Also weather-sealing is key because I am around sand, waves and salt spray, rain, mud, etc. Because I am an amateur I don't think super fast glass is necessarily a huge deal, speed is good for my low light situations but I shoot mostly in good light.

So: I could go for the DA* 16-50 and 50-135 combo, and get full weather sealing, 2.8 constant aperture, and decent range. Something wider would be great though....but is there any hope of a DA* 11-16 2.8? This setup would probably be pretty heavy though.

But with the likelihood of a WR 12-35 DA around the corner, IF the 55-300 DA were to become WR next, this setup would be light and compact, would have an awesome range of 12-300 (minus the 35-55 in the middle which wouldn't be a big deal) and would be just 2 lenses. (I don't think adding the 18-135 would make sense to cover the small 35-55mm gap? ) Of course this would be slower glass, but I will eventually upgrade my K-7 to a K-5 for the better ISO performance. SO my only issue with this setup would be if it would not be as suited to handling a beating out in the elements..... WR according to Ned provides protection that is inferior to that of DA* lenses and has nothing to protect it against sand and dust it seems from the descriptions. As I have said before, I find it maddening that Pentax leaves us in a blur of marketing confusion without a clear definition of the difference in sealing between "WR" rated glass and DA* glass. I really am suspicious it could JUST be marketing...as I have never heard of a "WR" lens failing from dust entry?