Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2010, 01:47 PM   #1

Using old len on K-X

I just posted this up in the general slr section, but maybe I should have posted it here.

Anyhow, I'm new to digital cameras, having held on to my 35 mm film cameras forever. This is no doubt an ignorant question, but I'll ask anyhow.

I have a newly acquired Pentax K-x, which I like. I also have an old Pentax ZX-M, and an even older Pentax MV.

I have a nice Vivitar zoom lens I bought for the MV. I occasionally used int on the ZX-M by just setting the settings manually and hoping for the best.

Is there anyway that this lens can be used with the K-X? Is there any sort of adapter, etc., that would allow for this to be done? For that matter, I have a variety of old lenses for the MV I'd like to still use with the newer camera, and I'd like to use the ZX-M lens on the new camera. I assume I can use the ZX-M lens.

In my area, 35mm film is getting really hard to get and develop, so I'm glad to have the digital camera. But I'd like to be able to keep using the old lenses. Is there an adapter or something that would allow this to be done?

12-26-2010, 04:25 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If that Vivitar zoom fits the MV then you need no adapter to use it on the K-x. Just mount it.

If the lens has no 'A' setting on the aperture ring then you'll have to set an option in custom functions menu #22 to permit use of an aperture ring. With that done you set the mode dial to 'M', compose your shot, set the aperture on the lens and hit the +/-Av button (I believe; I don't have a K-x. If that doesn't do it, try the green button) - this will set the shutter speed. Then you fire.
12-26-2010, 05:21 PM   #3
Veteran Member