Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2010, 06:36 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Decent macro lens?

Hi I have just recently acquired a Pentax K-X and was wondering if anyone would recommend me a decent affordable(70-120) Macro lens for my camera? Just to mention I'am a complete novice so please be gentle .

Thanks.

12-28-2010, 06:21 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

There is macro, and then there is macro. Almost anything labeled MACRO-ZOOM, isn't. Autofocus macro primes are good general-purpose lenses with sharp optics and not-cheap price tags. They are easy to use with flash. And I don't have any, so I can't recommend any. Manual focus manual primes with aperture automation are also good with flash, and are usually a bit cheaper. Macro setups lacking aperture automation are good and often cheap, but tricky to use with flash. I'm a cheap bastard, so I'll just say that it depends on what and how you want to shoot, and how easy you want it.

Various others here will probably recommend a Tamron 90mm, and it's probably within your price range. I use a manual Vivitar-Komine 90/2.8 macro (US$3 but I was lucky) and Pentax Macro-Takumar 50/4 (US$50, lucky again). But mostly I use enlarger lenses on bellows and tubes, all quite inexpensive. Or a Raynox magnifier atop an autofocus lens.

Like I said, it depends on what and how you want to shoot. Still or moving subjects? How close? How much magnification? How important is edge sharpness? Will you shoot for art, for science, for quality control, just to see if you like close work, or what? No single lens will suit in all situations.