Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2010, 10:14 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Looking for lens suggestions/opinions

Ok,

I am looking for advice on a lens to take pictures of my Artwork. I have a limited budget right now but I am sure I will add other lenses in the future. I am relatively new to the DSLR world, just having my K-X since late October. I am looking at primes lenses for this given task and better yet one that would make a nice "everyday" lens.

I have included a sample photo of one of my vases this was taken at about equivalent to 30mm to 35mm focal length with a cropped sensor DSLR, but was taken with my point and shoot camera. This is with a gradiant background and a homemade light tent. Most of the vases and bowls will be not taller than about 16" and most in the 12" range. if this is pertinent information.

I have been thinking that the DA 35 2.8 Macro limited would be a great lens for this but I have been also thinking that the DA 40 2.8 limited would work and be just a fun walk around lens to have. I already have a good full manual macro lens so I really don't need another Macro capable lens right now. I also have a SMC A28 2.8 that is a very sharp copy. It may work for this job as well but I have not used it for this application. I am kind of leaning towards the DA 40 as an all around nice lens to have for everyday use. The DA 40 is also quite a bit less expansive than the DA 35 2.8 Macro Limited. and for now would be much more affordable.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Al

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
DMC-ZS1  Photo 
12-28-2010, 11:27 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not sure I can help with the lens decision but I have had good luck with my macro lens for situations like this. Seems to stay sharper at the close range using the light tent. I'm using a S-M-C Takumar 50mm f/4 to photograph my turnings.