Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2010, 01:27 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
UV Filter on Sigma 10-20mm Lens

I recently bought a Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DC lens. I've always covered my lenses with a UV filter because I shoot primarily outdoors in all weathers. The only wide angle lens I have owned was a Zuiko 28mm for my Olympus film camera, which isn't very wide, so I'm new to this type of lens.

The Sigma lens element bulges quite a lot, and I'm concerned that a UV filter (regular, not thin) I bought for it might touch the lens element, so I have been nervous about mounting it. When I asked the technical helpline at B&H if the lens element would contact the filter glass, I was told that the only difference between the regular filter and the thin was that the latter does not have threads on the outer side of the rim to avoid vignetting. Because I'm not concerned about vignetting, and use the UV for protection and also like to use the lens cap when the lens isn't in use, I bought the regular filter.

I've tentatively screwed on the UV to see if I could tell if there's contact, using a hand lens to check. I THOUGHT I saw a tiny disk of contact but can't be sure.

Am I being overly concerned about this? Do others use a regular UV on this lens without problems? And how can I be sure if there's contact (or not)? It's awfully hard to tell.

I know some folks prefer to leave the lens exposed for better IQ, but I often slide my camera (and whatever lens is mounted) inside the front of my jacket when on a shoot to protect it from cold, knocks, and precipitation, so feel more at ease if the lens element itself is isolated from scrapes and crud.

12-31-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

FWIW, this happened to me when using a 24mm lens with a fisheye adapter, the lenses touched.