Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-08-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K10D, Cosina M42 135mm f2.8 and purple fringing

Hi,

I have noticed a lot of purple fringing on this lens. I am shooting with a 1 1/2" lens hood and no filter.

Is this because it's an old lens, something about the K10D, or a fact of life when shooting under these conditions?

OK, I am a noob, but I would like to know what I am working with in this regard...

jpeg straight from the camera, taken wide open. Picture taken as an example, it ain't art! I got much more fringing yesterday against cloud.

Thanks.

Jez

Attached Images

01-08-2011, 12:20 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

You will find the purple fringe to be quite common with older lenses particularly. The PF is actually a sensor artifact rather than chromatic aberration. I use Lightroom and find the PF can be reduced to almost none by simply turning the purple down in post processing. Whatever processing program you are using should be able to do something similar. This fringing shows up mostly when there is a high contrast break.
01-08-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

It's funny but I don't see any PF in the shot but only a little
Lateral CA
01-08-2011, 10:12 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Lowell Goudge Quote
It's funny but I don't see any PF in the shot but only a little
Lateral CA
I did not see any either, but assumed it disappeared in the size reduction. Good catch Lowell.

01-09-2011, 03:10 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks all for the replies. I can see what I assume is PF above and to the right of the pigeon, around the branches. I was actually trying to replicate a shot that I took the day before, which had loads of purple fringing. It was a bit over exposed, and this one it a bit under. Maybe that has made a difference.