Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
07-27-2011, 07:18 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thats why I kept both, I dont mind the M8 at all, but I have large hands

07-27-2011, 06:17 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
My experience may or may not be relevant. Before I went digital with a K10D in 2006, my main camera was a Contax G2 rangefinder. I had most of the Zeiss/Contax G prime lenses, which were truly superb. Now I am using a K-7 with all three FA Limiteds, and I honestly feel that the Limiteds are a match for the Zeiss lenses. However, I cannot claim to have done a fair comparison, because one set of lenses was used with 35mm film, and the other with APS-C digital sensors. Now, if I had a Pentax film camera, and if I were willing to do the same quality scans of the same film that I used in my Contax, then I might be able to draw some meaningful conclusions on this subject. But I don't, and I'm not, so there you have it. Also, I have no experience with vintage lenses of any kind.

In any case, the Pentax Limiteds are far superior in terms of value. I'm referring to the quality/price relationship. Even though the prices of the Limiteds have gone up over the past few years, they are still much less expensive than Zeiss and, especially, Leica lenses. I would doubt that most lens aficionados could distinguish them in a blind test. The law of diminishing returns is hard to deny, but if one has the budget and the desire for Leica, then one is free to indulge himself.

Rob

Last edited by robgo2; 07-27-2011 at 06:30 PM.
07-27-2011, 10:02 PM   #18
Veteran Member

Some Leica R lenses are not actually that expensive.

Like the macro-elmarit 60/2.8 which sells for ~$400-$500 I think, or the summicron 90/2 which is around ~$500-600, or the summicron 35/2 which is around $600 depending on the version. Zeiss or Pentax/Zeiss 28/2 sells for about the same amount.