Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2011, 07:35 PM   #1

Brand new DA* 16-50 squeaking when focusing....???

I just got my 16-50 DA* in the mail brand new from Abe's of Maine. Put it on the K-7 and it seems to autofocus quickly and lock with precision, BUT in the process makes a very audible squeaking noise when focusing......is this normal or should I send this copy back? I can't tell based off my searches whether this is linked to a sign of SDM failure and i have a dud or whether it is normal.......is the 16-50 supposed to be completely silent in focusing until the blip sound to say it is locked or is some squeaking expected/normal??? Argg! Thanks!

01-10-2011, 07:41 PM   #2

Well...I used to be a mechanical engineer, and from my point of view - send it back. You have two parts rubbing against each other with enough force to cause an audible sound - that means there is interference there somewhere.
01-10-2011, 08:08 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with 5shot.

While I can't say the squeaking in my own 16-50 indicated an imminent problem, it did sometimes make noise. A month out of warranty it was not locking on focus properly and there seemed to be a bit of back-focusing.

Now that the SDM has been replaced it works a charm and is silent, but it was expensive.
01-10-2011, 08:10 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
It should not squeak. I guess you could try manually focusing it back and forth to see if that eliminates it, but otherwise, I think you need to get another copy.

01-10-2011, 08:23 PM   #5

Original Poster
ok well I really am wondering if I should even get another copy as opposed to a refund...... I mean it sounds as if nobody has ever has this lens function without issue for more than 2 years and that is at best? Maybe I should just return it for a refund.... really kills me as this is the perfect lens for me but these reliability issues....
01-10-2011, 08:26 PM   #6