Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2011, 02:37 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Why don't all lenses have infinity exactly on the infinity stop?

This seems to be common; one has to back off a little to get the true infinity focus.

I've been a keen photographer since the 1970s, with countless Olympus (Zuiko) lenses, and more recently Pentax lenses.

Most of them seem to have this problem.

It is a bit of a hassle, because a lot of the time you are trying to shoot something distant, the camera won't auto focus (for whatever reason) and you just want to turn the focus ring to the stop.

I take a lot of pics from a light aircraft and the windows sometimes prevent AF, and obviously infinity is exactly what is required. So I tend to shoot at F8 in the hope that that will be OK if one is trying to work fast. F4 (wide open 16-45 lens) definitely blurs the image if the lens is on the stop.

01-12-2011, 02:40 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
good question Peter..not that I have the answer...but its puzzled me too
01-12-2011, 02:58 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Most obvious reason: expansion under different temperatures. Then mechanical tolerances and the change of these over time and use.

Use the viewfinder and try to focus on the distant object using your eye.
01-12-2011, 03:24 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I have the DA 35 macro ltd, and yes, I have to back off a little but the infinity mark is then aligned with the focus mark on the barrel
so there is no stop as used to be for infinity, but the infinity focus IS exactly on the infinity mark

01-12-2011, 03:34 AM   #5

I heard it was because they're easier to make in the factory that way, less preconfiguration I guess. And I suppose it's always better to be able to focus slightly past infinity than slightly before it!
01-12-2011, 05:39 AM   #6
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums