Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2007, 03:53 AM   #1

Looking for low contrast lenses

As a theatrical lighting designer I often use my camera to take pictures of stage lighting, perhaps one of the most difficult environments to photograph well: often with obscenely large dynamic ranges.

So here's my theory I often read descriptions of "good" lenses as both being sharp and having high contrast, is this just another way of saying that it is sharp (micro-contrast, edge contrast) or is it contrast across the entire frame. If this is the case could a lens with "poor" contrast be used to compress the dynamic range of a photograph?

However I don't want a crappy lens, can anyone out there suggest some sharp but low contrast lenses (the wider the better) which might make my life a little easier when dealing with those difficult theatre shots?

10-07-2007, 06:32 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Perhaps the issue is not the lens but the recording medium.

as a start, try shooting with different contrast settings in the camera.

Although I am not normally a proponent of RAW, this may be one time where shooting in RAW is a benefit, as it will give the best dynamic range.

I remember a very long time ago, (I think it was Ben) posted that he could see at least 9 stops of dynamic range when shooting RAW.
10-07-2007, 01:03 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Take lenses that are single coated. :P
10-07-2007, 05:20 PM   #4
roy
Inactive Account

this should be easy.. just try out different numbers of layers of clear baggies stretched over the front of the lens..
this is just a stray thought so let me know if it works..

10-07-2007, 07:22 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rdc Quote