Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2011, 07:34 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Sigma 30mm/1.8 or 18-50mm EX DC Macro?

I finally got approval from the wifey for a new lens, but now I can't decide. We're expecting our first child this April, so I've been thinking about a faster piece of glass for baby pics.

I have the DA 40mm, kit lens, and M 50mm/1.4. I've been shooting for about 2 yrs and find myself preferring the wide end, usually from 18-50mm. Not sure if I should upgrade my kit lens to get faster at f2.8 at a wider end or if the advantages of a prime at 30mm is enough. I like the kit lens, but since I have the k2000 I can't go too high with ISO. Hoping f2.8 or even f1.8 will help more with low light.

Any ideas/thoughts?

01-27-2011, 08:41 PM   #2

what's your total budget? do you want AF or is MF sufficient?

if ISO is your only concern then you might want to look into a new camera body or you can just add a flash to your existing kit.

if you want shallow DOF of a f1.4 then that's a different story, although you already have that covered with the 50mm
01-27-2011, 08:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I use the FA50/1.4 for pretty much all my indoor shots of my kids. Even 2.8 isn't fast enough without boosting the ISO past where you're probably comfortable. But while the FA50 is a gorgeous lens, it's a bit too long for indoors. I'd go with the Sigma 30/1.4 over the zoom if I were you. But the Sigma 28/1.8 may be a better choice. It's biggest downside is its massiveness. There's some discussion of the two here.
01-27-2011, 09:14 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
400us. I thought about a flash but feel its just too much to carry around. I lke to keep my bag down to the body, 2 lenses, and batteries. I love the 40mm but its a bit long for indoors. I prefer af especially as the kids grow older. I just can't nail down mf to be comfortable

01-28-2011, 12:34 AM   #5