Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2011, 07:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
My Manuals IQ vs Newer AF VErsions

I started shooting Pentax when my grandfather passed away and I inherited his old film bodies and several (10-15) lenses.
I later came to find out that I could use these lenses on modern dslr's. In the bag was a
SMC A 50 1.4, SMC 55 1.8, SMC A 28 2.8 among others.

When I have everything dialed, the 50 is great. SHARP SHARP SHARP. I get lucky with the other lenses too but the manual focus is killing me. For every 15 shots, I get one that I like.

So my question is, would I be better off with 2-3 auto focus primes? I know the answer to this, but what I don't know is the IQ of these lenses compared to my manual's. The 50 is pretty good and I love the heavy build. I've only seen pics of the AF 50 1.4 but it looks a little plasticky. Does it produce images that are as sharp?

My other lens that I would be interested in would be something like the Sigma 30mm, but I know that's the real deal. These options though are much more expensive, but I figured I could find the 50 relatively inexpensive on the marketplace.

Thanks

01-31-2011, 07:28 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
New primes will benefit from rear coatings if they were designed for digital. Not sure if the fa50 1.4 ever got this upgrade, AFAIK the A50 1.4 and the FA 50 1.4 share the same optical formula but the A is better built though lacks the AF
You could also probably benefit from some accessories that would help you raise the number of keepers
first would be a split image prism, combined with catch in focus on the camera you should have a higher success rate
second may be a magnifying eyepiece or if you wear reading glasses an eyepiece for your specific prescription (I picked up one of these recently combined with a split image and it has made life far easier)