Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2011, 02:53 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The Ultrawide comparison - Suggestions?

Howdi Folks!

I've accumulated a bunch of wide and ultrawide lenses most of which will be be put on sale soon, but before that I'd like to do a comparison of how they perform (to be posted here).

Apart from being a general newbie, I am a total newbie to ultrawide just with some knowledge of the basics but very little experience.

So suggestions for what to shoot are most welcome and if a Melbourne-based Pentaxian wants to come along and bring his/her own wide lenses or just come along - all the better. I live in Mentone, so the bay is one option, but not sure if this is the best subject for tests.

Lenses I have:

1. Tamron 10-24mm
2. Sigma 12-24mm
3. Samyang 14mm UMC
4. Pentax DA15mm
6. Pentax FA 20-35mm
7. Pentax DA*16-50mm
8. Pentax DA 17-70mm

Would be interesting to see how the legends like 15/3.5 stack up against these. I have a film body and especially if someone gives me a hand, might try the 2,3 and 6 on film.

So what do you think?

02-01-2011, 03:03 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You may want to repeat your call for assisitance in the social group for your area (if one exists):

Pentax 18-135mm | All Groups - PentaxForums.com
02-01-2011, 03:19 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Just a dumb idea here, but I have been thinking about making a LEGO test scene, using a single 40cm square lego base, and then smaller lego structures

this would let many people test if we all built the same thing
02-01-2011, 03:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Lowell Goudge Quote
Just a dumb idea here
I have sigma 8-16, the smc takumar 15mm f3.5 in m42/k-mount adapter, and DA12-24.
So how can you compare? just tell me how/what to do.

02-01-2011, 03:45 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by hoanpham Quote