Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2011, 04:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Trouble with 35mm lenses on a dslr

Ok, so I know this is a little premature but I'm hoping someone will know exactly what I am doing wrong and say "duh, try this"

So my Dad has an old 35mm slr camera and gave me the camera and lenses he had (I know the camera is a Pentax {I have to get to the house and pick them up}) but when I was testing them out one afternoon the pictures kept coming out solid black??? I have a k-x

I'll post tomorrow with exact brands and names of everything.

BTW, I am new at ALL of this and just learning, so PLEASE be gentle....

Thanks

02-01-2011, 04:23 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Did you put off the lens cap.

My guess is that the lens may be a M series. In which case you need the green button to get the right shutter speed and set the aperture for stop down metering. That is all I can think of without more details.
02-01-2011, 04:26 PM   #3

- Enable aperture ring use in the settings
- Set mode dial to manual (M)
- Set aperture on the lens
- Use green button to set shutter speed
- Shoot
- Post pictures
02-01-2011, 06:12 PM   #4

Original Poster
The camera is Pentax K-1000 big lens is makinon mc 1:4.5 f-200mm, on camera smc pentax 1:2 50mm, also 2x converter for pentax-k

02-02-2011, 08:50 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

in looking at the replies and your list of camera and lenses, I suspect that you have correctly set the function Use aperture ring, otherwise the shutter would do nothing at all.

the images coming out black suggest extreme under exposure.

try 2 things.

1 set the camera to Av mode, this will trip the shutter and meter with the lens wide open. You should see an image of correct brightness.

then in manual mode press the AE button. This should momentairly stop down the aperture and set a shutter speed to be consistent with the aperture setting.

Picture should again be correct.