Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2011, 08:56 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
A noob question about the manual lens

I am a total newbie to the DSLR and just bought a manual focus lens. After I tried it, really like it. Manual focus is not as bad as I expected. I noticed there is a white dot on the distance ring. It looks like a LED to me, but it is never got lit up. Very curious what is this for?

02-07-2011, 09:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
what is the manual lens you are referring to?
02-07-2011, 09:12 PM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

It's not a LED, it's a cosmetic spot on many lenses that can act as a place to mark the spot on the lens without having to look (know by feel rather than sight.
It has little relevance to the lens function itself.

Last edited by Ash; 02-08-2011 at 03:49 AM.
02-07-2011, 09:20 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Do you mean the white bump looking thing at about 8 o'clock as you look at the front of the lens? It most certainly does have a purpose. In fact two IMO. One, it will give you something to grip when mounting and removing the lens so you aren't wrenching the aperture ring back and fourth. Two, you may notice that when you are putting the lens on the camera, it lines up with the release button you press to remove the lens from the camera body (kind of what Ash is referring to but explained more fully). But no, it never will light up.

02-07-2011, 09:36 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the information.

QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
It's not a LED, it's a cosmetic spot on many lenses that can act as a place to mark the spot on the lens without having to look (know by feel rather than sight.
It has no other relevance to the lens function itself.