Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-07-2011, 11:29 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Does Komine still manufacture lenses?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I have been browsing through this forum on a regular basis and find it extremely helpful not only with Pentax equipments, but photography in general as well. However, this is my very first post on the forum.

I’m new to DSLR, (SLR and photography for that matter) and wanted to improve my composition skills. From what I’ve read so far, using a prime lens is the best way to hone such skills by forcing the photographer to move around and get a different perspective, as opposed to zooming in and out from one spot with a zoom lens. I shoot mostly landscapes so I thought an old 28mm third-party lens on my K-x is a good start. From what I’ve come across on the internet, the Komine version 28mm f2.8 CF/WA Vivitars with “A” setting (which by the way I was lucky enough to win a copy on eBay) is perhaps one of the most sought of after due its built and image quality.

There is, of course, the Pentax-A of the same focal length and max aperture but it’s nearly twice the cost of the Vivitar. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Komine branded lens? Would anyone know if they still manufacture lens for Vivitar or any other brand? Does an AF version of the CF/WA even exists? I tried to Google “Komine” but the results I get, at least the top two is an Auto center in Japan or a village in the vicinity around Timbuktu?.....Regards to all!!

02-08-2011, 12:25 AM   #2
Inactive Account